dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Appliance Repair
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 71.246.159.226
Old September 27th, 2006, 09:05 AM
rayh78 rayh78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Default Roper refrig defrost problem

In a few rental I have we have been using roper brand refrig. Have one 3 years old that iced up in freezer. Tried to check defrost timer but it has a small circut board instead. Is there a way to check this or turn the heater on to check?
Also alway thought the roper was a good brand for the money would GE be better or have a regular defrost timer. It does seems GE refrig parts are more available and a little cheaper to but.

Thanks for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 71.19.7.186
Old September 27th, 2006, 10:40 AM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

G'day,

1) No model# posted....might be like one of these...
http://www.applianceaid.com/adaptive_defrost.html
2) We normally check the defrost heater and defrost thermostat ( can be ohmed for continuity ) and if they check ok we change the defrost control automatically.
3) Cardinal rule is normally never buy or own a GE

Roper is made and owned by Whirlpool, they are as good or as bad as anything else out there.

JMO!

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 71.19.7.186
Old September 29th, 2006, 09:35 AM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default Should keep all of the posts together

rayh78
Junior Member Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2

Fixing defrost

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trying to make sure I understand correctly.
This is on a Roper refrig with a circut board as a defrost timer that is not defrosting.

Could it only be one of 3 things.
1. I check the element with my meter and it reads good.

2. Then the temp. sensor is a little round part with 2 sets of wires coming out. One set is not used and has a unused plastic plug end on it. So if I use a temporary jumper wire to connect the 2 wires it should go into defrost mode. If not then I have a bad defrost circut board. If it does not then a bad sensor.

Is it just this simple or am I missing anything? Still learning thanks for any info.

***** ***** ***** *****

Quote:
Could it only be one of 3 things
Most often yes...or the wiring between those 3 items....but that is rare.

Quote:
I check the element with my meter and it reads good
Good.

Quote:
Then the temp. sensor is a little round part with 2 sets of wires coming out
Not a sensor but a defrost thermostat, it is closed when cold and allows the heater to stay on until a predetermined temp has been reached on the evaporator coils and then it opens to shut off the heater only.

Quote:
One set is not used and has a unused plastic plug end on it
Likely a testing plug...maybe to bypass the defrost thermostat if the refrigerator was warm when testing.

Quote:
So if I use a temporary jumper wire to connect the 2 wires it should go into defrost mode.
Go into...not likely.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 71.246.159.226
Old September 29th, 2006, 10:28 AM
rayh78 rayh78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Default

sorry about double post.
Think I am understanding this.
I went ahead and just replaced the 3 year old refrig since circut board was about $80.00 and it also needed a door gasket and I needed to take care of this quick. Later I decided to stripped out the parts for spares and to help me learn for next time. Worth it to me and I always use the same brand/model.

With parts out could not check circut board so I put the defrost thermostat into a cup of water in another freezer for 1 hour. Then when I checked for continuity I could not get a reading. So would you guess it was a bad defrost thermostat and circut board is OK?
Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 71.19.7.186
Old September 29th, 2006, 02:26 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Quote:
I put the defrost thermostat into a cup of water in another freezer for 1 hour. Then when I checked for continuity I could not get a reading. So would you guess it was a bad defrost thermostat and circut board is OK?
Defrost thermostat doesn't sounds good so far....but we can't say yet if the board is ok or not.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 196.44.53.64
Old October 20th, 2006, 10:31 AM
anum anum is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Defrost Problem

Hi,
I also have a problem with my philips-whirlpool fridge freezer. The timer can't restart when it stops. That is when the timer stops it it can't restart the fridge and so the fridge stops working. I think the previous uiser had thw wiring tampered with and that is affecting its working. What does any body think? I would be grateful if i can find a circuit diagram for the wiring. The Fridfe is ARG 686. Thanks.

anum
Reply With Quote
  #7   IP: 71.19.7.186
Old October 20th, 2006, 12:02 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Hi,

Quote:
philips-whirlpool fridge freezer - ARG 686
A North American Whirlpool?

Model# appears too short and won't come up for me online.

Quote:
That is when the timer stops it it can't restart the fridge and so the fridge stops working. I think the previous uiser had thw wiring tampered with and that is affecting its working
When the refrigerator shuts off the timer doesn't restart? When the timer enters a defrost cycle the timer stops advancing?
A miss-wired timer could certainly quit

Quote:
I would be grateful if i can find a circuit diagram for the wiring
One comes with the refrigerator...glued on the back, rolled up underneath, rolled up beside the controls are common places for it.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #8   IP: 196.44.53.48
Old October 31st, 2006, 10:05 AM
anum anum is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Philips-Whirlpool refrigerator ARG686

THANKS FOR YOUR REPLIES BUT STILL NO SOLUTION. UNFORTUNATELY THE WIRING DIAGRAM INSIDE THE FRIDGE HAS BEEN PAINTED OVER AND THUS IRRETRIEVABLE.

CAN ANYONE PLEASE GET ME ONE?

anum
Reply With Quote
  #9   IP: 71.19.7.186
Old October 31st, 2006, 10:40 AM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Quote:
A North American Whirlpool?
??

Quote:
Model# appears too short and won't come up for me online - recheck
??

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com