dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Appliance Repair
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 128.107.253.44
Old December 4th, 2005, 01:29 PM
sterling sterling is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Kenmore F4 code Oven/Stove

Hi,
My Kenmore oven through a F4 error code last night so now the oven will not come on but the cook top range works properly. I did a little research and have come up with the oven sensor is bad. My model number is 911.95955590 which I believe was made by Roper. So far I have done the following thinking it is a bad sensor.

1) Removed sensor and measured 1075 ohms (which is in a good range)
2) Put Sensor in the toaster oven and verified the resistance value was
increasing.
3) Re installed sensor and measured the resistance at the connection, still is
1075.
4) Connect power to unit and now the resistance measures an open but if I
switch leads on my ohm meter it measures -890 ohms

Is this still considered a bad sensor or could it be something in the control unit.

Thanks in Advance,
Sterling
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 24.213.88.224
Old December 4th, 2005, 05:01 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Hi,

Quote:
My model number is 911.95955590 which I believe was made by Roper
Yupper....with GE parts.

Quote:
My Kenmore oven through a F4 error code
A copy:

F3 - F4
Open oven temperature sensor (circuit) (over 2700 ohms) or, shorted oven temperature sensor. Could be a result of:
contamination on terminals
pinched wire in oven temperature sensor circuit
cold solder joint on control.

Disconnect power to range and remove oven temperature sensor connector from control.
Measure oven temperature sensor resistance at oven temperature sensor connector (take care not to damage terminals in block) - Should read 1100 ohms at room temperature (approx 72 degrees F).
Measure each oven temperature sensor lead from connector block to ground. If shorted, look for pinched or cut wire in oven temperature sensor circuit.
Check connector terminals - Look for deformed or corrosion on terminals, Repair or replace.
If all above is ok replace control.

Oven sensor can go "funny" when heated...because it is cheaper we often try that first and the leads to and from the sensor...but some do go to a bad control.


Oven sensor assembly

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 68.126.218.58
Old December 4th, 2005, 05:24 PM
sterling sterling is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Jeff,
Thanks for the response. So what I did notice is that I followed the wires from the temperature sensor connection to the Display unit where the 2 wires led to on a 5 or 6 pin connector. I disconnected the connector and measured from the 2 pins on the board to ground and one of them read 1.1 K ohm. Does this mean there is a short in the main board?

Thanks,
Sterling
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 24.213.88.224
Old December 5th, 2005, 05:03 AM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

G'day,

Sounds possible yes

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 128.107.253.44
Old December 6th, 2005, 12:52 PM
sterling sterling is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Jeff,
Do you know where I could find a schematic for the ERC. I started tracing the pin for the thermostat connector and it looks like it is suppose to be connected to ground with a resistor in between but I can't be positive.

Thanks,
Sterling
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 24.213.88.224
Old December 6th, 2005, 02:19 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Quote:
Do you know where I could find a schematic for the ERC
From the manufacture of the clock/control....but don't hold your breathe!

Maybe one of the clock/control repair companies would have something....
http://www.applianceaid.com/timer_repairs.html

Appliance manufactures ( GE, Frigidaire, Maytag, etc ) will not have one.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com