Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical - Existing Home Electrical Repair / Remodeling Ideas / Problem Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 69.148.67.143
Old February 7th, 2004, 05:59 AM
williamsmithaud williamsmithaud is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 24
Send a message via Yahoo to williamsmithaud
Default Rheostat on capacitor start motor??

I have an old Dayton 1/3 HP 1725 RPM capacitor start 120V motor that I am trying to put into use as a bench grinder/buffer.

I would like to be able to control the speed of the motor through use of a rheostat without significant loss of power.

I had thought about using a ceiling fan speed control, but I don't think those motors are usually capacitor start

Can any of you motor experts out there tell me if this is possible; and if so, what kind of rheostat (or other device) I should use?

BTW, thanks to those who helped me with the starting problem on this motor. It was a loose capacitor connection.
__________________
William (Bill) Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 12.77.94.229
Old February 7th, 2004, 06:28 AM
jimbo jimbo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Default they make them for routers

to control the speed on them,it's possible it might work with yours also.
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 24.150.49.106
Old February 7th, 2004, 09:30 AM
joed's Avatar
joed joed is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Welland Ontario
Posts: 4,620
Default

Ceiling fancontrol is too small. It will probably burn out on a 1/3 hp motor.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 63.164.59.2
Old February 7th, 2004, 10:00 AM
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You can't use a rheostat on a CSIR motor. You'll burn it out in short order, especially at slower speeds. The only way to use this motor as you intend would be to use a small inverter drive (VFD). Very expensive. Could you just rig up several sizes of pully's for the various speeds that you might need? An adjustable sheave or adjustable speed gearbox may work well for this application as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 63.164.59.2
Old February 7th, 2004, 10:05 AM
mdshunk's Avatar
mdshunk mdshunk is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Guru'
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,199
Default

Like the previous poster said, it would be real hard on a CSIR motor to run it slower. To use a rhestat on this motor, you'd actually need a pretty hefty
"variac", costing a couple hundred bucks. For that money, you might as well buy a VFD. The router control won't work, because routers use a "universal motor", that can run on ac or dc, much like a vacuum sweeper motor. The router control us basicly a solid state version of a variac, and wouldn't last for your application.
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 69.148.67.143
Old February 7th, 2004, 12:40 PM
williamsmithaud williamsmithaud is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 24
Send a message via Yahoo to williamsmithaud
Default

Thanks for the replies. Looks like I'll have to resort to the pully method. I thought that would be the case. No problem though. That system has served me well on my drill press and lathe.
__________________
William (Bill) Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7   IP: 148.78.243.123
Old February 8th, 2004, 08:51 AM
Wgoodrich's Avatar
Wgoodrich Wgoodrich is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,451
Default

You have two types of motors normally used for speed control work. A multispeed motor with high/medium/low windings in the motor much like the fan motor in your car or what is called a DC servo motor that is rather salty in cost for the horse power you need using a grinder design.

The series of pulleys is your better choice to attack this desire you have.

Good Luck

Wg
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30A 120V compressor circuit outlet and switch Lifespeed Electrical - Existing Home 13 March 15th, 2009 04:56 PM
VFD to Motor Starter nathanht Electrical = Industrial / Commercial/Power Distribution 1 July 14th, 2008 02:44 PM
78 Mercury 80 hp troubles 76galaxie Boats 2 October 8th, 2006 10:06 AM
Electric Motor for Table Saw DUNBAR PLUMBER Electrical - Existing Home 8 March 5th, 2006 10:38 AM
Fuses blowing on 3 Phase motors rlfrazee Electrical - Existing Home 20 January 15th, 2004 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com