Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical - Existing Home Electrical Repair / Remodeling Ideas / Problem Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 64.252.6.83
Old August 9th, 2003, 05:47 PM
djoakes djoakes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Default Grounding a fluorescent light fixture

I have installed a small fluorescent fixture in my kitchen. The lead wires from the old light do not contain a ground wire. How do I create a ground so that the fixture lights when I turn on the switch? Currently (no pun intended) we never know when the light will finally come on.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 68.116.16.207
Old August 9th, 2003, 05:59 PM
harmonicat harmonicat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8
Default

in order for any light fixture to illuminate (or work) only a hot and a neutral are needed. Usually a black and white are common. The bare ground seen in newer wire such as nm cable (romex) is an equipment ground for added safety. If your light has an equipment ground it wont be used, unless you happen to install a ground to that electrical box.
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 148.78.243.121
Old August 11th, 2003, 05:30 PM
Wgoodrich's Avatar
Wgoodrich Wgoodrich is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,451
Default

The equipment grounding wire of a fluorescent fixture aids in the ignition of the gases inside the fluorescent bulb by inciting the gases to ignite.

If you have an older wiring system sometimes the fluorescent fixture will still light up, sometimes it won't. It may help for the light to ignite the gases if you do have an equipment grounding wire. To do this with a two wire non grounding system you would need to run a 12 awg green equipment grounding wire from the first fixture metal frame to each other fixture metal frame then run as close to the older existing wiring as possible all the way back to the panel equipment grounding bar. Be sure to check that you have a ground rod or metal water pipe ground in contact with earth for 10' minimum or you will have to install a new grounding electrode system for that panel before that green wire has anything to connect to.

Hope this helps

Wg
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP... Pool Bonding Grid System for Above Ground Pool. syburr Electrical - Existing Home 14 May 27th, 2011 08:19 AM
Switch box as a power source mr.lars Electrical Code - USA 21 December 6th, 2004 08:27 PM
Adding a light to two 3 way switches and existing light *stephen.schafer Electrical - Existing Home 0 December 12th, 2003 11:08 AM
Other utilities co-bonding to ground electrode system mudshvel Electrical - Existing Home 2 June 7th, 2003 06:16 PM
Converting Non-grounded recepticle to a grounded recepticle Anonymous Building Construction - Existing Home 6 September 25th, 2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com