Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical - Existing Home Electrical Repair / Remodeling Ideas / Problem Solving Solutions

#1   IP: 68.75.177.18
Old July 26th, 2003, 10:17 PM

Default New GFCI, test button OK but GFCI tester doesn't trip it

Hi. My first post here and apologies if I don't have electric language straight--I'm pretty much self taught and limited to replacing switches and receptacles or adding another outlet on an existing circuit.

So I finally got around to a "roundtoit" of adding a GCCI and additional receptacle to a basement circuit that has 4 things plugged into it. I replaced the single receptacle (2 3-prong outlets) with a GFCI and kept the original receptacle so I'd have 4 places to plug things in. This is in an unfinished basement where the conduit is exposed and the receptacle was installed in a 4" square box with a metal cover the outlet was screwed into. I replaced that cover with a metal one that had 2 cutouts, a big rectangular one for the GFCI and a normal one for a receptacle with 2 3-prong female connectors. I had to remove "wings" from GFCI then both receptacles bolt into the metal cover through the normal holes at end.

ALSO, this conduit and the 2 wires extend out to the garage and the three outlets and light fixture in the garage are on the same circuit.

So what I tried to do was (1) wire in the new GFCI and (2) use the load side to protect the 2nd receptacle in the same box AND the stuff downstream in the garage. All seemed fine when I tested by pushing the "test" button on the GFCI. BUT, I recently bought a GFCI tester that has 3 lights to indicate if wired correctly and a test button to trip the GFCI. This does NOT trip the GFCI when plugged in directly, nor when plugged into the second receptacle in the same box nor in the garage. So something is wrong. (sigh, so much for my "simple" Sat night project