Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical - Existing Home Electrical Repair / Remodeling Ideas / Problem Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 65.31.87.233
Old June 1st, 2003, 07:52 AM
syburr syburr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16
Default Junction Box Grounding

I'm running THWN in EMT. If I put in a junction box for pulling wire (no outlet there) does that box have to be grounded?

The wiring is going outside and I'm switching to PVC inside the house. If I switch to PVC before the junction box then that PVC junction box would not have to be grounded?

On a different circuit in the basement I have romex in the floor joists and it goes in EMT down the wall to the recpticle box. I have grounded the recepticle box but if I use a metal faceplate for the duplex outlet does that metal faceplate need to be grounded as well?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 65.73.69.57
Old June 1st, 2003, 08:12 AM
6pack 6pack is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Master with Distinction'
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,781
Default

No not by means of a green wire or bare, your ground is in that EMT you mention.(EMT is your ground here) As long as that EMT is continuous being attached to all grounded metal boxes(J boxes) back to panel or service panel itself. IF you switch to PVC you must pull a green wire along with circuit in that PVC and you must attach it to the metal J box with a green screw!/ Depending on what type of box your using and cover. A 4"SQ you would get ground when attaching cover to metal box & receptacle. If using (180) or handy box you would get ground thru screw that attaches to receptacle that you will ground to box and receptacle from bare wire in your Romex. GL
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 216.130.152.51
Old June 4th, 2003, 08:08 PM
jbfan jbfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 4
Default

Anytime the recepticle is not attached to the box by by screws you must bond the recticle to the box
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 148.78.243.121
Old June 6th, 2003, 05:31 PM
Wgoodrich's Avatar
Wgoodrich Wgoodrich is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,451
Default

jbfan is correct only if a recessed box. If a steel box and if a surface mounted box the yoke may ground the receptacle. If the box is a recessed box you may also use a self grounding receptacle list for that use instead of a bonding jumper to the receptacle.

Just a couple of other options to meet the rules.

Wg
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP... Pool Bonding Grid System for Above Ground Pool. syburr Electrical - Existing Home 14 May 27th, 2011 08:19 AM
A topic very near and dear to our hearts--ground(s) mudshvel Electrical - Existing Home 4 September 2nd, 2003 07:56 PM
Other utilities co-bonding to ground electrode system mudshvel Electrical - Existing Home 2 June 7th, 2003 06:16 PM
to ground a subpannel......... or not? dabrowski Building Construction - Existing Home 1 February 9th, 2003 07:32 PM
Converting Non-grounded recepticle to a grounded recepticle Anonymous Building Construction - Existing Home 6 September 25th, 2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com