Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical - Existing Home Electrical Repair / Remodeling Ideas / Problem Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 206.142.146.81
Old December 18th, 2002, 10:40 AM
Mark Walters Mark Walters is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
Default Replacing electrical outlets - two hole with three hole

I am a novice when it comes to wiring. Most of the outlets in my home are the old ones with just two slots for plug-ins. I would like to update these so I can use newer, updated electrical appliances and such. Is this hard?? Or can I just switch them out?
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 67.84.23.125
Old December 18th, 2002, 11:28 AM
imported_Ron imported_Ron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 364
Default

You may switch them out for new two prong outlets with no other modifications needed.
If you want three prong outlets, you need to tell us if it is for the convienence of having a three prong or you want the additional safety of a ground wire that drives your question.
There are methods to do what you want, but to give a detailed response it helps to know why you want it to give you the right answer how to do it.
__________________
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 68.80.176.42
Old January 9th, 2003, 10:00 AM
kkellogg kkellogg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
Default Replacing a two pronged receptical with a three prong.

I am interested in this reponse. I have this issue today and mostly want to upgrade them for convience of an occasional three pronged light/tool or tv. Sometimes I have metal cable shielding to ground. Does this work?
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 65.112.80.200
Old January 9th, 2003, 12:01 PM
imported_trinitro imported_trinitro is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 106
Default

I believe the code requires that a ground wire be present if a 3 pronged outlet is to be installed. You'll have to take one outlet out and see what type of wires you have in there. If a ground wire is present then you can replace the outlet with a 3 pronged type, and connect the bare wire to the ground screw on the outlet. If not, you'll have to figure out a way to run a ground wire to the panel. If you have metal conduit electric, then a ground wire may not be needed.
You could also replace the outlet with a GCFI which doesn't require a ground wire, but you still won't have a true ground.
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 148.78.243.123
Old January 10th, 2003, 05:05 PM
Wgoodrich's Avatar
Wgoodrich Wgoodrich is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,451
Default

If you have BX cable with a flexible metallic outer cable this metallic outer sheathing is not approved for use as a grounding conductor in lengths exceeding 6'.

You choices are as said in prior replies.

Replace with new two prong receptacles.

Replace with three prong but protected by GFI protective device [normally a GFI breaker if protecting an entire circuit]. This provides a less than optimum option because you still have no grounidng connection with the panel.

Replace with a three prong receptacle with a single green insulated grounding wire ran directly to the panel grounidng bar.

Replace with an entirely new branch circiut from the panel to end of circuit using a 12 or 14/2wGrnd cable.

Hope this helps

Wg
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical outlets Aaron Electrical - Existing Home 3 February 1st, 2006 01:33 PM
Wondering about Electrical outlets Unregistered Electrical Code - USA 5 September 23rd, 2004 04:33 PM
Multiple electrical issues in newly purchased home Dpetersen Electrical - Existing Home 25 July 8th, 2004 11:45 AM
electrical outlets not working Unregistered Electrical - Existing Home 2 March 5th, 2004 05:04 PM
Restrictions on electrical outlets near fireplace? Anonymous Electrical - Existing Home 4 January 26th, 2003 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com