dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical - Existing Home Electrical Repair / Remodeling Ideas / Problem Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 69.211.139.58
Old July 16th, 2005, 07:24 PM
dbstv2 dbstv2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default Warm 220V Circuit Breaker & Wire - Normal ?

Hi all. I recently moved my washer and dryer up from the basement to the first floor for convenience sake. While doing some wire management and such, I noticed that both the wire from the service panel and the breaker itself were slightly warm to the touch. I am using 10-3 from the circuit panel to the plug in the laundry room. The total run from panel to plug is about 40 feet. The pigtail from the plug to the dryer does not get warm. I swapped out the breaker with another one and the problem did not go away. The breaker is rated at 30 amps. Is my wire undersized for the run or is there something else I should look for? The wire and breaker aren't hot, just slightly warm. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 66.59.122.49
Old July 16th, 2005, 07:44 PM
mdshunk's Avatar
mdshunk mdshunk is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Guru'
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,199
Default

10-3 is the right size for a normal domestic clothes dryer, and 30 amp is the right breaker. You say that you already swapped out the breaker, so that answers my next question of are the lugs tight on the breaker. I'd call slightly warm to warm quite normal. I've been drying laundry all day, and my dryer breaker is quite warm. Breakers will trip if they get overly warm. The fact that yours has not tripped means that it is operating within designed tolerances.
__________________
"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool"
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 66.59.122.49
Old July 16th, 2005, 07:54 PM
mdshunk's Avatar
mdshunk mdshunk is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Guru'
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,199
Default

Ran out to the truck to get the infared heat checker-outer thing. I'm measuring temperatures on my QOB230 dryer breaker of between 108 and 114 degrees Farenheight at the moment. Depends where exactly on the breaker I take the temp. Dryer is currently running.
__________________
"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool"
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 69.211.139.58
Old July 16th, 2005, 07:59 PM
dbstv2 dbstv2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the speedy reply! One of those things that I really never checked in the past but since you report similar experiences I'll sleep better tonite! Not that I leave the dryer run at nite when I'm sleeping that is!!
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 24.16.225.236
Old July 17th, 2005, 12:14 AM
suemarkp suemarkp is online now
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 8,284
Default

I noticed the same thing today. I just installed a heat pump for my swimming pool. It has an MCA of 35 amps and I used #8 copper wire on a 40A breaker. The 40A breaker gets warm after an hour or two of the heat pump running. I was also surprised to notice that the flexible metal conduit containing the wires was also warm (there's a separate FMC circuit run next to it, and it was quite cool). The 60A breaker feeding my pool panel was also warm, as was the 100A breaker that feeds the panel containing the 60A breaker.

I think that once you reach a certain level of current draw (probably at least half of the circuit's rated ampacity), and it goes on for a while, things get warm.

My heat pump has run for over 5 hours and not popped any breaker. It says that a 50A breaker is the max permitted, but the 40A seems to be holding just fine.
__________________
Mark
Kent, WA
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arc fault circuit breaker question glennb825 Electrical Code - USA 6 November 22nd, 2006 09:24 AM
Can I use braided wire in my breaker box? woodworker2000 Electrical Code - USA 5 March 2nd, 2006 05:55 PM
Bad Circuit Breaker? *Guest Electrical - Existing Home 0 December 12th, 2003 11:34 AM
Grounding method question and adding new circuits question *dfulmer Electrical - Existing Home 0 December 12th, 2003 11:26 AM
Mix 14 AWG and 20 AWG dkooda Electrical - Existing Home 7 January 21st, 2003 05:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com