Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home Heating & Cooling / Repair , Additions & Problems Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 69.142.37.175
Old May 12th, 2005, 08:33 PM
bmwpower's Avatar
bmwpower bmwpower is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 455
Default Insulate plenum?

Should you always insulate the plenum on an attic furnace/ac (horizontal)setup? The plenum is about 7 feet long x ~2 feet wide x ~1 foot high. 6 - 8" insulated fleixible duct lines come off of the plenum.

Mine is an 80% furnace, 92% AC.

Last edited by bmwpower : May 12th, 2005 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 66.59.122.185
Old May 13th, 2005, 03:27 PM
mdshunk's Avatar
mdshunk mdshunk is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Guru'
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwpower
Should you always insulate the plenum on an attic furnace...
There is no IRC mandate to do so, but the IECC does seem to have this requirement if that document is also in force in your area. If you do insulate the plenum, the IRC does require you to use a vapor barrier on the exterior of the insulation or use duct insulation blankets with integral vapor barrier and tape the seam(s). Duct insulation may not pass through a fire wall or fire rated floor/ceiling. The ductwork passes through the fire rated assembly without insulation, and then you insulate the exposed ductwork on both sides. I just thought I'd add that in case that applied to your garage. If your plenum is made out of ductboard, then it's already insulated so to speak.
__________________
"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool"
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 69.142.37.175
Old May 13th, 2005, 07:51 PM
bmwpower's Avatar
bmwpower bmwpower is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 455
Default

Do you feel insulation would be necessary in this case? If I don't need to do it, I probably won't unless it saves a good amount of energy.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 66.59.122.159
Old May 13th, 2005, 07:52 PM
mdshunk's Avatar
mdshunk mdshunk is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Guru'
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,199
Default

If it is sheet metal, personally I would as a matter of good practice. I'm not sure how much energy savings may be realized, though.
__________________
"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool"
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulate basement walls or not Home2stay Energy Savings & Envelope Blanket of Structure - Existing Home 4 June 5th, 2006 12:25 PM
What is the Best type of plenum to use, Steel/ductboard Tom Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home 3 June 27th, 2004 09:58 PM
18" high crawl space--how to insulate wall? jaes54321 Building Construction - Existing Home 9 June 11th, 2004 03:56 PM
CAT5e Computer Wiring *abarry Computers & Data Wiring 1 December 11th, 2003 11:20 AM
Plenum ggg Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home 3 December 20th, 2002 12:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com