dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home Heating & Cooling / Repair , Additions & Problems Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 99.62.32.12
Old April 5th, 2012, 06:43 PM
chubtor chubtor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Default Lennox Elite CB30M 65 1P heat pump switch positions

We have just moved house, it has a Lennox Elite CB30M 65 1P heat pump. There are two circuit breakers on the front, the left one is on and the right one is off. We are trying to find the correct settings for A/C in the summer and Heat in the winter. Anyone have any ideas?

Last edited by Mr T : April 5th, 2012 at 07:07 PM. Reason: Moved to correct room by moderator.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 76.1.54.251
Old April 5th, 2012, 07:10 PM
Mr T's Avatar
Mr T Mr T is offline
Rotaredom

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LaLa Land, NW Ohio
Posts: 4,657
Default

Are these 2 single pole breakers or are they 2 double pole (2 breakers connected together, or a single lever breaker that takes up 2 spaces)?

What size are the breakers (what is the number on the handle)?

Does this unit have electric backup?

Normally the only change you need to go from heat to AC is the switch on the t-stat.

Can you post a pic?
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 50.135.128.55
Old April 5th, 2012, 07:22 PM
suemarkp suemarkp is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 8,288
Default

Many heat pump air handlers will have electric strip aux heat. Code requires that these be subdivided into loads less than 48 amps (and since heat is continuous, 48*1.25 = 60A for the max breaker for heat).

So you could have more than 48 amps worth of heat, and someone decided to keep one off to save money (and the house will heat much more slowly on cold days).

Or perhaps you don't have much aux heat installed and that second breaker is not feeding any heat strips. In that case, turning it on should not affect anything.

See if there is a nameplate rating on the air handler which tell you how much strip heat is installed in KW or if there is an MCA number on its nameplate.

You could also look at your breaker panel and see how many circuits feed this heat pump. One large one 80 to 125 amps) would make sense for two 60+60 breakers. You could also have two breakers, one landing onto each 60A breaker in the air handler. If there is a single 60A circuit, it probably lands on one of the two breakers in the air handler and the other has no power applied to it.
__________________
Mark
Kent, WA
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com