dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Telephone Wiring
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Telephone Wiring Telephone Repair , Additions & Problem Solving Solutions

#1   IP: 174.29.247.41
Old June 6th, 2011, 01:17 PM

Default No dial tone, but internet still works.

Hi, I'm a novice at phone wiring, but am okay with DIY projects (I did the wiring while finishing my basement).

Recently, I've not been able to get a dial tone from any of the 5 jacks in my house. My modem box plugs into one jack and is still functioning to provide internet access. A phone plugged into this same jack does not give a dial tone.

I have purchased a new phone that works to give a dial tone at a neighbor's house, but no dial tone at any jack in my house. If I plug a phone into the jack in the box outside of the house, I get a dial tone. There is a second jack in the outside box that does not give a dial tone when I plug the phone in.

The phone company says the problem is with the wiring in my house, not on their end. Can anyone diagnose the problem and provide a solution?

thanks,
Paul
  #2   IP: 74.5.149.208
Old June 6th, 2011, 03:35 PM
Rotaredom

What kind of internet do you have? dsl(adsl), isdn, dial up, ect? It makes a difference.

It sounds like you have 2 phone lines coming into your house. One is dedicated to voice (the one you are having trouble with) and one dedicated to your internet.. sounds like dsl but we need to know for sure.

First you need to determine which of the 2 jacks in your demarc/network interface box is your voice and which is your internet. You may not get a dial tone with some internet types like dsl if there is no voice line with it. Other times you have a dial tone but its only good to call 911 and the phone company.