Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Building > Electrical Code - USA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical Code - USA Commercial or Residential 1999 / 2002 / 2005 versions - for UNITED STATES

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 24.186.154.107
Old November 27th, 2004, 10:15 PM
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default low voltage thermostat wire

The wiring to the thermostats in my house 14/3. The white wire is connected to the transformer load screw. The red is attached to one zone valve and the black to the other. The 14/3 wire runs to the thermostat on the first floor then from there to the second floor thermostat. My problem is this: the wire running to the second thermostat was cut. Since there is no slack in the wire I am faced with either using 2 j-boxes to reconnect the wire or trying to run new wire which will be difficult. Could I reconnect the wires with tape and not use j-boxes since this is low voltage? Also, could I replace the 14 gauge wire running from the 1st thermostat to the second with low voltage wire and leave the 14/3 in place from the boiler to the first thermostat?
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 12.151.29.112
Old November 28th, 2004, 06:52 AM
mdshunk's Avatar
mdshunk mdshunk is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Guru'
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,199
Default

14-3??? Holy cow!!! That's huge wire for a low voltage thermostat. I'm somewhat surprised that you managed to get that wire around the screws on the zone valve and the thermostat. Since this is wiring less than 50 volts, then you can splice it however you like. Normally, thermostats and zone valves are connected with 18 gauge "thermostat wire".
__________________
"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool"
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 24.186.154.107
Old November 28th, 2004, 08:00 AM
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks MD. Now you have me a little worried that this setup is atypical. I had always assumed that the wiring was originally in place for a 120v line and that they must have converted over to low voltage at some point in time. How can I be sure the line is low voltage?
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 165.121.59.133
Old November 28th, 2004, 09:51 AM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,631
Default

Everyone makes mistakes! We are here to help the best we can!
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So....You want to be a master electrician? Harbormaster Electrical Exam Preparations 21 August 24th, 2009 02:32 PM
Voltage drop configuring? Fischer Electrical Code - USA 36 July 10th, 2007 07:07 PM
Generator install at main service disconnect suemarkp Electrical - Existing Home 52 February 7th, 2006 09:37 AM
Replacing an electric baseboard thermostat *Mike Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home 0 December 12th, 2003 09:21 AM
Ac Voltage On Phone Line! *SILVERSLAB Telephone Wiring 0 December 11th, 2003 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com