dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Building > Electrical Code - USA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical Code - USA Commercial or Residential 1999 / 2002 / 2005 versions - for UNITED STATES

#1   IP: 74.245.49.34
Old August 8th, 2010, 05:38 AM

Default Pool pump wiring

I have an above ground pool, not storable, that I would like to have the pump wired with a timer and switch. Estimates thus far average about 900. I have a degree in Building Construction Technology and Design and used to build houses prior to joining the military. Currently I own a side business where I do all aspects of home improvement except outdoor electrical. I am ore than comfortable with indoor wiring but have not ventured to the outdoors as of yet and know there are vast differences between the two. I would like to get an opinion if I should tackle this project or quit being such a cheap SOB and pay to have it done. If I do it myself could I get a bit of guidance as to the procedure. Thanks in advance
  #2   IP: 98.247.156.92
Old August 8th, 2010, 11:53 AM
Super Moderator

Outdoor wiring isn't that much different than indoor. Everything pool costs a lot because of the rules. So first question -- where will the pump and timer be? In a little shed, a wall with roof cover, or totally exposed to the elements?

Pool pumps need to be wired in conduit and require a green insulated grounding wire. So you'll have to run PVC conduit for this, buried 18" down where underground. Once you hit 360 degrees of bends, you need an access box because it is too hard to pull wires through more bends than that.

The circuit must be GFCI protected. A design issue here is what do you need to put on these besides the pump? A pool light? The required general purpose receptacle located 6 to 20 feet from the pool? What is the amp rating of the pool pump and can it run on 120V or 240V (the amps will be half at 240V compared to 120V)?