Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Building > Building Codes - Residential
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Building Codes - Residential International Residential Code 2000 or 2003

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 64.53.32.29
Old October 9th, 2004, 03:56 AM
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default Baseboard Outlets

I have seen a home many years ago whereby the electrical outlets were located in the baseboard. Personally, I have never liked the appearance of outlets in a wall. The particular home I seen had outlet covers the same color as the baseboard and it was very non-intrustive. Does anyone know if this meets code and where I could find such products. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 24.161.84.88
Old October 9th, 2004, 04:47 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Speedy Petey Speedy Petey is offline
Senior Member with Distinction
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NY State
Posts: 906
Default

Unreg,
Hello. It is fine to install receptacles in the baseboard. In fact you can install them in the floor (within 18" of the wall) anywhere up to 5' up the wall to serve as a required receptacle. If it is just a new additional receptacle you can put it anywhere you want.
The products for baseboard installation are the same as anwhere else. For new construction typically they are cut into the baseboard later, as opposed to nailing the box on during the rough in.


For future refrence. Put a question like this in one of the electrical forums. Most things electrical are not governed by building codes. We follow our own special set of codes. Although we do dip into building codes for certain things, such as smoke detectors.
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 66.59.120.66
Old October 9th, 2004, 03:43 PM
mdshunk's Avatar
mdshunk mdshunk is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Guru'
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,199
Default

AND...

If you're contracting this out, it's expensive as heck to have the receptacles installed in the baseboard for new construction. You're absolutely right, though. It does look really nice. I've only done 2 new work jobs in about 15 years in this manner. Both times I left the wires tailed out of the wall, and left a couple of boxes as a "sample" for the trim carpenter. They are much better equipped to do a nice job cutting the rectangles out than the typical electrician might be. In this manner, the boxes are installed at the time of finish wiring. I generally use a metal box with ears for baseboard receptacles, and attach them with four #4 x 3/4" wood screws in the holes on the ears of the box. This is a real old-fashioned method, but sturdy as heck.
__________________
"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool"
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 148.78.247.10
Old October 9th, 2004, 07:23 PM
Wgoodrich's Avatar
Wgoodrich Wgoodrich is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,451
Default

Be careful adding receptacles to a baseboard heater. There is no insulated neutral wire to a 220 volt baseboard heater. These have to be wired with a heater circuit and a general lighting circuit or a three wire with grounding being black red white and bare.

Most heaters have junction box covers on the end of a heater allowing for the junction of power to the heater. These ends have a junction box cover supplied with the heater. The manufacturer often supplies a cover that has a built in receptacle in the cover and often can be bought as an add on for existing heating system.

I wonder if you are not violating the UL listing if you cut through the end of a heater not designed for a receptacle. May be worth considering.

HOpe this helps

Wg
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 151.205.241.111
Old October 10th, 2004, 07:15 AM
mdshunk's Avatar
mdshunk mdshunk is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Guru'
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,199
Default

HUH? Wg, I think you read the post and had something else on your mind. Baseboard heaters are not involved with this post. Only wooden baseboard moulding.
__________________
"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool"
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 148.78.247.10
Old October 10th, 2004, 07:50 PM
Wgoodrich's Avatar
Wgoodrich Wgoodrich is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,451
Default

Sorry, saw baseboard and auto filled in the heater missing. Guess I need to pay more attention or I am loosing my mind. Could be either.

Sorry

WG
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sorting outlets in a chain of outlets Prolly Electrical - Tips & Hints - NO QUESTIONS FOR HELP HERE 0 December 28th, 2008 09:29 AM
Request help refining circuit plan.... Logcabin1 Electrical Code - USA 5 February 2nd, 2008 02:20 PM
Power at breaker but none at outlets Jesse Electrical - Existing Home 8 November 12th, 2006 02:28 PM
Updating old outlets in an old house dkerr Electrical Code - CANADIAN 16 August 20th, 2005 11:25 PM
Extra Outlets DUNBAR PLUMBER Electrical Code - USA 1 April 15th, 2005 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com