Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical - Existing Home Electrical Repair / Remodeling Ideas / Problem Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 71.89.19.215
Old June 21st, 2010, 07:34 PM
twoslow twoslow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 23
Default Wiring diagram on deep well single stage pump 115/230v

I am installing a 1 hp single phase deep well pump for a sprinkler system. It requires 115/230 volts. I wired it with a 12-2 wire using a double pole 20 amp breaker using the white nuetrel wire as a hot and just grounding it with a the bare copper wire. I went to start it and thats all it does is hum and it became really warm in a short amount of time (seconds). There are two screws right when the wire comes into the pump that according to the diagram on the pump states that the black (hot) wire goes on one and the white (neutral) wire goes on the other. My question is why are they stating that the white wire is neutral, shouldn't it be "hot". Do I have to run a bigger wire and run it as a 40 or 50 amp single pole breaker, utilizing the white wire as a neutral and having just one hot wire. If that is not the answer just wondering if anyone out there can help figure out why this pump is not running. Any help with this matter is greatly appreciated. THANKS, Twoslow
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 98.247.156.92
Old June 21st, 2010, 07:57 PM
suemarkp suemarkp is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 8,190
Default

A motor stamped 115/230V is convertible between voltages. Usually, there is a connector or switch to rotate in the motor to set the voltage. This motor may be defaulted to 120V, so you'd have a hot and neutral. At 240V, you'll have two hots and no neutral. The semantics doesn't matter. What you need to know is where do you put the two wires for 120V -vs- 240V, and is there any jumper or thing to rotate to set the voltage.

At 240V, you could probably run this just fine from a 15A double pole breaker. At 120V, you may need a single pole 20A breaker. What are the nameplate amps?
__________________
Mark
Kent, WA
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com