Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Building > Building Codes - Residential
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Building Codes - Residential International Residential Code 2000 or 2003

#1   IP: 74.111.67.22
Old May 19th, 2010, 04:58 PM

Default Townhouse 2-hour rated firewall (3.17.2 Exception)

Grettings,

This is my first post here, so please bear with me if I'm not quite up to speed on technical know-how or on this forum's etiquette. I'm still learning.

I have lived in my townhouse for close to two years. We are the 3rd owners, and it was built in 2001.

My main concern is sound transmission through the common walls with the neighbors on each side. A secondary concern is whether the common walls are built to code for their fire rating.

Footfall on the floors and stairs, closet doors closing, baby crying, and chairs being slid over hardwood floor are all clearly audible. When one neighbor closes her front door, I can feel a thud move through the structure, and the common wall creaks. None of this seemed right to me, especially since when we bought the place I assumed each unit was separate and independent, with it's own "exterior" walls between adjacent homes.

I was very disappointed when I discovered that my townhouse shared a single common wall with the neighbors on each side. Prior to that, I had always thought of townhomes as independent structures. Needless to say, the IRC code exception under 3.17.2 for a 2-hour fire-resistance wall instead of two independent structures is NOT my friend.