Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Appliance Repair
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 4.13.203.145
Old September 22nd, 2004, 03:09 PM
BigFred2003
 
Posts: n/a
Question Jenn Air Wall Oven installation

Our 20 yo Whirlpool oven has finally died. We just ordered a Jenn Air double wall oven and I'm trying to decide if the installation is a do it yourself project or if I should pay the $269 for installation. I am fairly competent with basic electrical work (wired my basement refinishing project myself), but don't have any special tools. From what I've been able to read, it's a pretty basic connection process. Do I need any special tools, like a crimper of some sort to make the connections? I haven't taken the old oven out yet to look at the existing connections. It's on a 60A circuit, so I don't have to replace any wire. Any advice would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 24.215.11.32
Old September 22nd, 2004, 06:54 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Hi,

Quote:
From what I've been able to read, it's a pretty basic connection process
No model# posted but JennAir has many of the install and manuals available on thier web site if you need to have a peek....they will also be packed in the new oven.

JennAir web site

Quote:
I'm trying to decide if the installation is a do it yourself project or if I should pay the $269 for installation.
269.00 *sounds* a bit high to me...JMO!!...but 2 people is best for a double oven to "pop" it in place!!

Quote:
Do I need any special tools, like a crimper of some sort to make the connections?
Nope, most are marrette style connections inside a small junction box.

Quote:
I am fairly competent with basic electrical work (wired my basement refinishing project myself)
Certainly -sounds- like you should have no problems hooking up the electrical for the new oven...esp if you can read and follow the instructions/tips that come with the oven

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca

Last edited by jeff1 : September 22nd, 2004 at 06:55 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 4.13.201.141
Old September 22nd, 2004, 07:44 PM
BigFred2003
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jeff,
It's the JJW9630D. I've read the manual online for installation and it doesn't look too intimidating. The only question I really have now is the wire connections. I've read some posts that refer to crimping the connections, but it sounds like a standard wirenut of some form (not sure what a "marrette" type is) is used. As far as I can tell, it's only three wires to hookup. The price I was quoted was from Home Depot and included the removal of the old stove (but not disposal). My son and I are game for the challenge. Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 24.215.11.32
Old September 23rd, 2004, 04:11 AM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Hi,

Quote:
not sure what a "marrette" type is


Extra large wire connector with spring insert

Quote:
My son and I are game for the challenge.
If you get a chance, let us know how the job went

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 4.13.203.145
Old October 2nd, 2004, 02:50 PM
BigFred2003
 
Posts: n/a
Smile Success

My wife is busily learning how to use her new oven and cooktop. Got both installed and connected this morning and they're working like a champ. Thanks for the info. Couple of questions...the oven is on a 50A breaker, the cooktop on a 30A. According to the faceplate data, they call for a 60A and 40A respectively. (The existing supply wire is 8ga (oven) and 10ga (cooktop) aluminum so it could handle the bigger breakers. I used the proper cu-al connectors and anti-oxide paste) I turned both units on with the max power draw and neither breaker blew. Is there a safety issue I should be aware of, or can I hold what I have with breakers? The leads off both devices appear to be 10ga. Thanks for any insight.
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 24.215.11.32
Old October 2nd, 2004, 09:12 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Hi,

Quote:
the oven is on a 50A breaker, the cooktop on a 30A.
That is what the most common ones we install require.

K.W. RATING ON SERIAL PLATE
a 0 - 4.8
b 4.9 - 6.9
c 7.0 - 9.9
d 10.0 - 11.9
e 12.0 - 14.9
RECOMMENDED MINIMUM CIRCUIT PROTECTION IN AMPERS
a 20
b 30
c 40
d 50
e 60
WIRE SIZE (AWG)
a 12
b 10
c 8
d 8
e 6

Match the letters.

Quote:
I turned both units on with the max power draw and neither breaker blew
That sounds good so far!!

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca

Last edited by jeff1 : October 4th, 2004 at 03:33 AM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #7   IP: 4.13.201.141
Old October 3rd, 2004, 08:18 PM
BigFred2003
 
Posts: n/a
Question

I spoke too soon. My oven is popping the breaker when both the top and bottom are turned on. Here's my question. My supply wire from the 50A breaker is 8ga. The wire harness that connects from the junction box (using wirenuts) to the oven (using a screw terminal block) is 10ga. According to the charts, I need 6 ga for the 60A breaker. However, using the factory-supplied harness, this circuit will have a combo of 10 and 6ga wire. Can I install a 60A breaker without changing out the supply wire to 6ga? Why does the manufacturer call for a 60A breaker that requires 6ga wire, but then use 10ga wire on the connecting harness that the 6ga wire is connected to? I'm confused and don't want to do something that is unsafe, but can't figure this one out. Thanks for any clarification on this.
Reply With Quote
  #8   IP: 24.215.11.32
Old October 4th, 2004, 03:38 AM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Hi,

Post the KWrating off of the model/serial tag and we will get WG's opinion. The wire between the house connection and the appliance always seems to be smaller, chances are for ease of installing behind the oven is one reason.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #9   IP: 128.164.239.133
Old October 4th, 2004, 09:38 AM
BigFred2003
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The upper oven is rated at 7.2KW, and the lower is rated at 5.4 KW for 12.6 KW total. This falls into the 60A breaker range, but the harness wire is definitely not 6GA. WG, any insight into this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10   IP: 128.164.239.133
Old October 4th, 2004, 09:39 AM
BigFred2003
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I forgot, it's the Jenn Air 9630DD, double convection oven.
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jenn Air Wall Oven F3 Error Code emailwalkers Appliance Repair 1 June 20th, 2008 05:11 PM
Question regarding Wall Oven and Cooktop Wiring David_M Electrical Code - CANADIAN 2 May 2nd, 2008 05:23 AM
Installing a used wall oven and cooktop - wiring mess! coalminecanary Appliance Repair 1 November 29th, 2007 02:02 PM
Wiring Wrong on GE Wall Oven? RegalWagon Appliance Repair 4 November 19th, 2006 06:16 AM
Wall Oven installation Anonymous Appliance Repair 1 September 12th, 2002 08:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com