dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Appliance Repair
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 71.246.154.254
Old March 5th, 2010, 02:30 PM
rayh78 rayh78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Default Range problem

Anyone know what error code P5H is.
Heres the story. Have a rental house and tenant said that the stove breaker was tripping in the panel box.
She supplies her own stove and she said she bought a new whirlpool one and it does the same thing. If I believe her shes said she had it checked and the service person said it was not a problem with the range. When the oven is turned on it trips the breaker. So I posted a question about this and answer was mostly likely the breaker, which made sense.. So now needed to add some more info.
I went over to the house. Checked the range outlet just to be sure the terminal screws were tight. Panel box only 5 years old but had a 40-amp range breaker. I replaced the 40-amp breaker with a 50 amp since it had 8-2 gauge romex. And my breaker does not trip. I wish I had turned on the oven first to confirm it did trip the old breaker like tenant said, but I did not.
After replacing I then went and checked the range. All 4 surface burners will come on and work. Display with clock will work but if you try and turn on the oven the display will show P5H for a few seconds then the display with clock goes completely blank and oven does not come on.
I did a goggle and other people have asked what this P5H is and the answer that I found was only that it was not a whirlpool error code.

So any help is appreciated here. What could the P5H stand for. And can I now assume 100% that it is not a problem with my panel box.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 72.12.147.181
Old March 5th, 2010, 09:16 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Hi,

Stove make...Whirlpool?
Model#?
http://www.applianceaid.com/model.html Some model# helps.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 71.127.140.150
Old March 6th, 2010, 04:52 PM
rayh78 rayh78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1 View Post
Hi,

Stove make...Whirlpool?
Model#?
http://www.applianceaid.com/model.html Some model# helps.

jeff.

Would have to wait until I go over there next time.
But is it possiable it is not a problem with the range. I mean can I be sure that it is not a problem with the panel box?
Breaker does not trip and I read 120 x 2 volts at outlet. Black lead to center slot and my red meter lead to each of the other slots and got 120V at each one. When all 4 surface burners are on is this using 240v or 120V
thanks

Last edited by rayh78 : March 6th, 2010 at 04:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 71.127.140.150
Old March 6th, 2010, 05:05 PM
rayh78 rayh78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Default

I did find this on another post with goggle search. But could this range require a ground. My outlet is only 3 wire. Two hots and a netural.

"We just ran into a Whirlpool range with the P5H problem. The owners recently moved and just plugged the unit in and got P5H. The technician found a problem with the wall receptacle, no ground. If you have a meter, check your outlet. "
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 72.12.147.181
Old March 6th, 2010, 09:33 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Quote:
My outlet is only 3 wire. Two hots and a netural.
Up here in the Great White North we have 4 wires, a seperate ground.....many in the USA tie the ground wire and neutral together.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com