dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Building > Electrical Code - USA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical Code - USA Commercial or Residential 1999 / 2002 / 2005 versions - for UNITED STATES

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 98.30.163.230
Old June 9th, 2009, 04:14 PM
Mr T's Avatar
Mr T Mr T is offline
Rotaredom

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LaLa Land, NW Ohio
Posts: 4,657
Default Stranded wire to outlet/switch

I am running stranded wire through a conduit. Am I ok to wrap it around a outlet or switch's screws or do I need to pigtail to solid first? In one case it will be 10 ga (due to run length).
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 24.41.32.231
Old June 9th, 2009, 04:25 PM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr T View Post
I am running stranded wire through a conduit. Am I ok to wrap it around a outlet or switch's screws or do I need to pigtail to solid first? In one case it will be 10 ga (due to run length).
Pigtail it for a more reliable termination to screw terminals.
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 64.83.195.10
Old June 9th, 2009, 05:10 PM
junkcollector junkcollector is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Master'
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 1,421
Default

1.If you twist the strands that make up the wire in a counterclockwise direction prior to looping the conductor around the screw it stays secure on a terminal.

2. There is also a trick that if you pinch the insulation with your strippers about an inch and a half from the end and then with the casing still on twist the strands counter clockwise and then loop the bare part around the screw, and leave the casing on the little tail that comes out.

3. You can crimp on a forked solderless terminal to the end. I only recommend this if you have a good crimper for the solderless terminals.

4. Use devices that have a pressure plate connection. (where you stick the wire in a hole and tighten the screw)
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 24.41.32.231
Old June 9th, 2009, 05:16 PM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,631
Default

Quote:
4. Use devices that have a pressure plate connection. (where you stick the wire in a hole and tighten the screw)
I don't believe they will accept a #10AWG.

I vote pigtail all the way. Forget the rest..........just my .01 cents
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 64.83.195.10
Old June 9th, 2009, 05:30 PM
junkcollector junkcollector is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Master'
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 1,421
Default

Wooooops, I forgot for a second we were talking about 10 AWG stranded. Long day I guess... Forget the first two, they only work on smaller stranded wire.. Better just pigtail.

Some
commercial grade devices do except 10 AWG.
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 98.30.163.230
Old June 9th, 2009, 07:05 PM
Mr T's Avatar
Mr T Mr T is offline
Rotaredom

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LaLa Land, NW Ohio
Posts: 4,657
Default

I oinked it.

I did install a outside GFCI outlet on the run to the garage and I tried and 10ga did fit in the clamp down holes, but didnt think to try it till after I made 12ga pigtails.

Speaking of 10 ga.. This is a split 220V 20A circuit.. I ran larger wire due to the length of the run and some powertools including an occasional air compressor being run. It's 10 from the panel all the way to the disconnect in the garage (as far as I have wired so far). Is there a point where it's ok to go to 12 with minimal loss or should I keep it 10 to the outlets where the large stuff will be plugged in? Largest thing I will normally use out there is a 13A 120V air compressor.. not heavy use though.
Reply With Quote
  #7   IP: 24.41.32.231
Old June 9th, 2009, 07:56 PM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,631
Default

From the source (Disconnect in garage), you should be fine using #12, unless your run's in the garage are going to be excessive.

May I ask how long the run is to the garage?


Quote:
Am I ok to wrap it around a outlet or switch's screws or do I need to pigtail to solid first?
Some duplex receptacles do have the clamp down termination points --which may not accept the #10AWG--but based on your statement above, I figured you was using the screw terminal--using #10 stranded-- on non-GFCI devices.
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!

Last edited by Ohm1 : June 9th, 2009 at 08:14 PM. Reason: added #10 stranded
Reply With Quote
  #8   IP: 98.30.163.230
Old June 9th, 2009, 08:17 PM
Mr T's Avatar
Mr T Mr T is offline
Rotaredom

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LaLa Land, NW Ohio
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohm1 View Post
From the source (Disconnect in garage), you should be fine using #12, unless your run's in the garage are going to be excessive.
Worst case Im thinking 10 feet for the outlets...probably less

Quote:
May I ask how long the run is to the garage?
sure go ahead.

Quote:
Some duplex receptacles do have the clamps down termination ppoints --which may not accept the #10AWG--but based on your statement above, I figured you was using the screw terminal on non-GFCI device.
The 10 ga is conneced to the disconnect (double pole switch with screw terminals)
I pigtailed 12ga for the GFCI but could have gotten away with using the clamp holes.

The run will be about 70 feet from the panel to the garage disconnect. so worst case about 80feet. Kinda in the borderline area....
Reply With Quote
  #9   IP: 24.41.32.231
Old June 9th, 2009, 08:47 PM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,631
Default

Assuming you are on a 20A circuit, you are good!!!
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!
Reply With Quote
  #10   IP: 24.41.32.231
Old June 9th, 2009, 08:52 PM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,631
Default

Don't go starting a shop--having two or three guys running appliances like a bat out of heck.
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com