Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Home Security
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Home Security Questions & Discussions on the topic of Home Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 209.163.243.78
Old August 6th, 2004, 07:04 AM
Glenn68 Glenn68 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Question Brinks Keypad Reprogram

Greetings,

I recently purchased a foreclosure property with a Brinks Home Security system already installed in the house. Is there any way to reprogram the alarm keypad without knowing the master code?

Please help.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 206.197.217.20
Old November 16th, 2007, 11:08 AM
todwin8 todwin8 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Default Same question

I just bought a new house with a pre-installed brinks system.
I don't want to pay brinks the initial set up change and three year contract for monitoring it, but I would like to use the alarm to let me know if something happens down stairs while I am upstairs.
Is there a way to reprogram brinks keypads without paying brinks?
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 68.92.35.120
Old November 23rd, 2007, 05:35 PM
george george is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
Default

Without the master or installer code...your system is toast.

Even if you get the codes, Brink's has panels made to their specs and they will only dial into their service. I do not believe Brink's will ever give you any codes as that is how they make a living.

Easiest solution.......try the following website and buy a new panel and keypads.

www.homesecuritystore.com

The experts on that forum can help with programming the new system.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 68.59.121.228
Old November 24th, 2007, 03:13 AM
CraigFL CraigFL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 185
Default

Sometimes you can find access codes in the main alarm box. If you just want the alarm to operate locally(will not dialup the security service), sometimes all you have to do is to disconnect the phone line. Some systems will sense this and try to call out/notify when this happens so you may have to change the program for this "feature".

If you decide to go with another security service, sometimes they can reprogram it for you to be compatible with theirs but you need to ask to be sure.
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 75.185.195.233
Old November 25th, 2007, 06:01 AM
Mr T's Avatar
Mr T Mr T is offline
Rotaredom

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LaLa Land, NW Ohio
Posts: 4,550
Default

todwin8> See if there is a "watch"mode where it will beep if a door or window opens, but doesnt go into full alarm.

both> If you are looking to get a insurance discount, sometimes a unmonitored system doesnt qualify for a discount. If you are looking to get that, check with your insurance company. I dont know what happens if they assume it's monitored and they later find out it's not. Just a fyi...
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 209.91.39.169
Old January 10th, 2008, 06:13 PM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,628
Default

Good Info Mr. T!
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!
Reply With Quote
  #7   IP: 74.244.162.126
Old March 22nd, 2008, 08:55 PM
keithjr23 keithjr23 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default Bhs

Brinks systems are made for brinks only. You need a special programmer to program the system. You can only change the master code in programming. You can how ever call Brinks and for a small one time fee have them come out and program the system to your likings and have a local system. It is best to find a dealer. I use to install for one for a couple of years.
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kenmore Elite Dishwasher keypad problem PegL Appliance Repair 1 September 15th, 2011 07:11 PM
How do I get a DSC 1832 to recognize the wireless zones? warlock0263 Home Security 15 December 12th, 2008 11:00 PM
DSC PC1555...don't know keypad code JPAstor Home Security 2 July 11th, 2007 06:49 PM
GE Electric Oven - JKP13GP - Keypad Problem? GoJackets Appliance Repair 5 December 8th, 2006 10:47 AM
Brinks 3000 Door Chime livereatinj Home Security 4 November 5th, 2006 04:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com