Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Small Engines
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Small Engines Small Engine Repair such as chain saws, lawn mowers, lawn tractors, etc.

#1   IP: 71.14.107.74
Old June 13th, 2008, 09:28 AM

Question Circuit question on EB6500SX Honda Generator

Hi, newbie here. Just found this forum and hope to learn a few things along with assisting where I can.

Although new to this forum, I am a Moderator on an extremely large forum with upwards of 20,000 members, so I trust you'll find you can trust me to not spam or anything.

Now, my issue at hand...

I have a 9 year old Honda EB6500SX generator that up until last night ran fine. It puts out a total of 45.8 amps, split between the two legs. All together when connected to my panel it runs the entire house with no problems.

When I connected it last night - main breaker off, etc - I found that only 1/2 of the house circuits were working. I reset the panel breaker and the breaker at the generator and got low power output evident by the dim lights in the living room, etc (the 1/2 of the house that hadn't had power when I first turned the gen on).

I then tested the output to the panel and found the red wire leg putting out 117.1 volts and pulling 14.2 amps. The black leg was only showing what appeared to be backfeed voltage of up to 22+/- volts and .1 amps. When I checked the right and left house electrical panel sides to each other I only got something like 22 volts, which confirmed to me that the black wire side from the generator wasn't putting anything out.

I shut off the panel breaker (double pole 30 amp) from the generator, disconnected the generator cord and checked the GFCI Reset button. It had worked when I first tested it when I turned on the generator, but now the Reset button won't pop with I push the Test button, and it doesn't trip the AC Circuit Breaker on the generator.