dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical = Industrial / Commercial/Power Distribution
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical = Industrial / Commercial/Power Distribution Industrial/Commercial/Power Distribution

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 64.83.225.185
Old April 25th, 2008, 12:51 PM
junkcollector junkcollector is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Master'
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 1,421
Default Allowable ampacities for magnet wire

Hello everyone! I need help with another one of my scary build-it-myself projects!

I am winding my own transformer from scratch and I need to figure out what gauge size enamel covered magnet wire will carry 5 amps.

I am unsure on how to calculate this, so if anyone could point me in the right direction I would be most appreciative. Thanks.

If you need any more info just holler.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 76.104.172.149
Old April 25th, 2008, 08:23 PM
suemarkp suemarkp is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 8,309
Default

Good question, I wish I knew the answer. Can you use whatever size wire you want (assumining sufficient ampacity), or is it important that the coil of wire by itself have the correct impedance to only allow up to 5A of current to flow? If you have to watch the impedance, you have multiple variables to deal with (e.g. you could use #16 wire, but you'll have thousands of turns and it will be huge; or a few turns of #32, but you'll burn it up because it can't take 5 amps). The number of turns may also affect the heat dissipation ability of the wire.
__________________
Mark
Kent, WA
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 64.83.225.185
Old April 26th, 2008, 07:23 AM
junkcollector junkcollector is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Master'
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 1,421
Default

Hi Mark,

Quote:
Originally Posted by suemarkp View Post
Can you use whatever size wire you want (assumining sufficient ampacity), or is it important that the coil of wire by itself have the correct impedance to only allow up to 5A of current to flow?
The coil I am winding is a secondary coil, and it will be protected by a fuse. It does not have to be current limited. I just want to try to figure out what the minimum size wire will carry 5 amps safely without burning up. The problem is is that I have limited core space to wind, and I need to make 120 turns of wire. I have to be efficient as possible, because I will obviously not do as neat of a job as a machine in a factory. The transformer will be forced air cooled.

I have searched the internet a bit and have not turned up any type of chart or anything that would give out this information. Any ideas are still welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 76.104.172.149
Old April 26th, 2008, 12:06 PM
suemarkp suemarkp is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 8,309
Default

Here are some things I found:

http://amasci.com/tesla/wire1.html
http://geek.scorpiorising.ca/windingtransformers.html
__________________
Mark
Kent, WA
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 64.83.225.185
Old April 26th, 2008, 12:54 PM
junkcollector junkcollector is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Master'
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 1,421
Default

Thank you so much!

I guess I got to get winding.
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com