dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Building > Electrical Code - USA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical Code - USA Commercial or Residential 1999 / 2002 / 2005 versions - for UNITED STATES

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 208.252.188.162
Old October 5th, 2007, 05:06 AM
hgufrin hgufrin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
Default Neutral Bus Bar vs. Grounding Bus Bar

New home,2 bedroom, Peoria, IL, construction with 200 Amp service. I have a basic 30 space Sqaure D main breaker electric panel that I just purchased from Lowes.

I am ready to wire up all my breakers.

My questions is... which is the neutral bus bar and which is the grounding? They are both bonded together on the panel so does it even matter which is use to attach my white and ground wire to?

Plus, there are two isolated grounding bars screwed on opposite sides of the panel that are not bonded to the neutral bus bar...??? For what?

Does it matter which bars I use to connect my white wires and grounding wires?

I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 207.35.6.2
Old October 5th, 2007, 05:45 AM
joed's Avatar
joed joed is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Welland Ontario
Posts: 4,689
Default

For the panel containing the main service disconenct it does not matter. The neutral and ground are bonded.
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 130.127.63.136
Old October 5th, 2007, 06:13 AM
househelper househelper is offline
Senior Member with Distinction
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 593
Default

If you have a panel with the grounding bars installed (those on either side mounted directly to the panel) use them to land the bare grounding wires. Install the white neutrals on either of the other two bars. If this panel is the main disconnect (no other panels between it and the meter), you would also install the green bonding screw that will bond neutral bus and panel enclosure. If this is NOT the service disconnect, then this is a subpanel and the bonding screw is NOT installed and the panel will be fed by four wires (hot, hot, neutral, ground).
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 208.252.188.162
Old October 5th, 2007, 07:00 AM
hgufrin hgufrin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
Default

thanks for the clear message...

househelper,

"If this panel is the main disconnect (no other panels between it and the meter), you would also install the green bonding screw that will bond neutral bus and panel enclosure."

can you elaborate on this? install this where?

thanks so much.
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 64.83.225.185
Old October 5th, 2007, 10:31 AM
junkcollector junkcollector is offline
Senior Member 'Self Help Master'
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hgufrin View Post
"If this panel is the main disconnect (no other panels between it and the meter), you would also install the green bonding screw that will bond neutral bus and panel enclosure."

can you elaborate on this? install this where?
For a main panel, there should be a green screw that goes through the neutral bar that "ties the neutral down" AKA bonds it to the box. Some panels have a grounding strap (thin piece of aluminum) that is screwed to the panel and put under one of the bus lugs.

Hope that clears it up.
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 208.252.188.162
Old October 5th, 2007, 10:33 AM
hgufrin hgufrin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
Default

sure does. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7   IP: 130.127.63.136
Old October 5th, 2007, 12:40 PM
househelper househelper is offline
Senior Member with Distinction
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 593
Default

Square D panels use green screws in a hole on the top right of the strap the connects the two neutral bars. Bonds the bars to the panel.
Reply With Quote
  #8   IP: 209.91.39.169
Old October 5th, 2007, 05:20 PM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,631
Default

I
Quote:
have a basic 30 space Sqaure D main breaker electric panel that I just purchased from Lowes
I thought it was basic!
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!
Reply With Quote
  #9   IP: 66.32.84.190
Old October 5th, 2007, 05:22 PM
househelper househelper is offline
Senior Member with Distinction
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohm1 View Post
I

I thought it was basic!
Should be. Can't get the acidic ones anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #10   IP: 209.91.39.169
Old October 5th, 2007, 05:59 PM
Ohm1's Avatar
Ohm1 Ohm1 is offline
First Class Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 4,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by househelper View Post
Should be. Can't get the acidic ones anymore.
exactly!!! LOL!!
__________________
Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com