dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Appliance Repair
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 74.227.178.168
Old September 23rd, 2007, 07:59 AM
Handy Handy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default Whirlpool Refrigerator compressor won't restart occasionally

Whirlpool Model # ED25TQXGW00. My problem started after a storm one night and the power went off for only a few seconds. I noticed clicking noises for a while after that and then it stopped clicking and started to run normally. After a few months I noticed one morning it was clicking again (about every 5 min.) so I checked the freezer and found that everything was thawing out. I unplugged the power, removed the back and found the clicking sound is coming from the relay/overload switch on the side of the compressor. Is there a way to by-pass the relay or the overload switch to determine if the compressor's bad.
I plugged the power cord back in after about 20 or 30 minutes and the compressor started immediately and that's where I'm at at this point. I don't have any warranty left unfortunately so I'm on my own. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm pretty handy but I don't know much about refrigeration so if anyone can guide me through some troubleshooting I would appreciate it. I live in the United States. Thanks in advance for your help and quick reply.
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 72.12.174.172
Old September 23rd, 2007, 12:34 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Hi,

Quote:
My problem started after a storm one night and the power went off for only a few seconds. I noticed clicking noises for a while after that and then it stopped clicking and started to run normally.
Normal. A compressor needs 3-5 minutes of off time for the pressures inside the system to equalize before the compressor can restart. If unplugged or power goes off and comes back on again the compressor normally cannot restart right away.

Quote:
Is there a way to by-pass the relay or the overload switch to determine if the compressor's bad.
Only with a test cord or trying with another start relay/overload. Normally the compressor current or amp draw is checked to see if the compressor appears healthy or not.
http://www.applianceaid.com/refrigerator.html#clicking
http://www.applianceaid.com/electric...ting_tips.html
Also make sure the condensor coils are cleaned and the condensor fan motor is runing ok.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 72.146.188.217
Old September 24th, 2007, 02:49 AM
Handy Handy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Update: As I said earlier, I plugged in the power cord and the compressor started immediatly and ran without a problem until it came time to restart. It wouldn't restart, it would just click like before. The condenser fan motor is running ok. You said I could have a bad relay/overload switch and I hope that's all that's wrong. Does the relay/overload switch have anything to do with the heat or the pressures in the compressor and could that be why the compressor starts and runs without a problem after it stays unplugged for 30 minutes? Thanks again and I'll be looking for your reply.
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 72.12.174.172
Old September 24th, 2007, 05:07 AM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Quote:
Does the relay/overload switch have anything to do with the heat or the pressures in the compressor and could that be why the compressor starts and runs without a problem after it stays unplugged for 30 minutes?
Heat is possible yes, pressures in the system no. Heat itself can effect the relay ( work ok when cool and fail when hotter ) and a compressor drawing too much current will over heat and can trip open the overload.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 72.154.7.227
Old September 24th, 2007, 04:36 PM
Handy Handy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for your help. I replaced the relay/overload switch and that was the problem. Thanks again for your help and I hope this will help someone else in some way.
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 72.12.174.172
Old September 24th, 2007, 08:28 PM
jeff1's Avatar
jeff1 jeff1 is offline
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,086
Default

Thankx for the update

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com