Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home Heating & Cooling / Repair , Additions & Problems Solving Solutions

#1   IP: 72.69.7.62
Old March 20th, 2007, 09:09 PM

Question Ultra SX80 Circuit Board - Price?

I recently had to have the circuit board replaced on my Ultra SX80 as it was constantly blowing and not shutting off. Had a friend of my brother-in-law, who owns his own HVAC company, come out and he did the whole deal for $400. I work on computers for a living and when he told me that the board was $320 ($70 for the service call, and $10 for a 'sensor', can't remember what he called it) I almost had a heart attack. I've been searching and searching but can't seem to find one on any site that is the exact one that I have. The model number of the furnace is GUJ075D14-3A. I haven't pulled the board off to see if there is a model number on the back yet, but the only numbers I got off the front are:

FCC-1A (common to a lot of elec. components)

It also has "Heatcraft" on the board as well.

The reason I'm posting this is because I want to know what that board costs, wholesale, to find out if I actually got a deal or not. I was told that I probably did on the service charge, but my bro-in-law said this guy would give me a "great deal". I was even going to offer my web site creation services as a barter until I heard the price. I can understand maybe charging a bit over what it costs him so he makes some money, but he only had to drive 7 miles from his house to fix it and from what he said he's been doing a lot of business, so he's not hurting for money (whereas I am as I was laid-off for over a year recently).

I may very well have gotten a great deal and that is truly what I hope is the case, but my gut keeps bothering me about it (and it's a big gut....lol).

If pics are needed let me know and I'll post some.