Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Electrical - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Electrical - Existing Home Electrical Repair / Remodeling Ideas / Problem Solving Solutions

#1   IP: 68.34.36.21
Old February 10th, 2007, 07:04 PM

Default subpanel placement above floor height

Hi,

I'm installing an automatic transfer switch box and a subpanel in my basement. Ideally I would like to installthem one above each other. One is 18" high and the other is 24" high. The wall is 92" high and allowing 6" between the two boxes gives 48". Placing them so the top box (subpanel) is 12" from the ceiling gives 60", which places the bottom of the ATS box 32" off the floor. Does this sound like a problem? I could place the boxes side by side but it wastes space in the loacation where I'm placing them.

PLease let me know your thoughts on this one,
Thanks,
Tom
  #2   IP: 69.131.230.187
Old February 10th, 2007, 07:30 PM

I'm not an electrician so I don't know about the code requirement, if any, for the height of breaker panels from the floor. But I have learned by recent experience that it's a lot more difficult and potentially dangerous to work in a high mounted panel from a step ladder than it is standing on the floor at eye level with your work.

It would be even harder and more dangerous if your panel is located where you're in the dark when the main breaker is turned off as mine is. My wife and I spent the better part of the afternoon in the basement yesterday installing a new 240V circiuit in our main panel where she had to hold a flashlight for me to see by and I had to work standing on a ladder. I don't want to put myself in that situation again any time soon.
  #3   IP: 24.16.225.236
Old February 10th, 2007, 07:43 PM
Super Moderator