dcsimg
Self Help Forums

Go Back   Self Help Forums > Repair > Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Heating & Air Conditioning - Existing Home Heating & Cooling / Repair , Additions & Problems Solving Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 24.223.174.162
Old February 7th, 2007, 04:16 PM
Jammon Jammon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Armstrong Ultra II 97

May furnace won't ignite. I tap on the Robertshaw Model SP735A Ignitor and the system starts. Does anyone know if the Robertshaw ignitor develops poor soldering joints. I do plan on removing it and examing it or is there something else I should check?
Thank you in advance for any help,
Jammon
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 63.164.202.130
Old February 7th, 2007, 04:22 PM
sloooo sloooo is offline
Senior Member with Distinction
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 789
Default

Do you tap on the actual ignitor, or the ignitor contol box? If it's just the ignitor, I would pull it off and see if you can cleasn it up. You might have a bad ground and it's not able to get a good spark. If it's the control box, it's solid state board. I would just replace it.
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 24.223.174.162
Old February 7th, 2007, 04:42 PM
Jammon Jammon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I tap on the Robertshaw ignitor control module, not the ignitor.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 24.223.174.162
Old February 7th, 2007, 04:53 PM
Jammon Jammon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sloooo View Post
Do you tap on the actual ignitor, or the ignitor contol box? If it's just the ignitor, I would pull it off and see if you can cleasn it up. You might have a bad ground and it's not able to get a good spark. If it's the control box, it's solid state board. I would just replace it.
Thank you, but do you know if the module develops bad soldering connections. I have to reset first it, then I tap it and it starts working. I have all the tools to fix a solid state device. Have you had any success with repairing the module?
Jammon
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 76.175.8.38
Old February 7th, 2007, 06:43 PM
sloooo sloooo is offline
Senior Member with Distinction
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 789
Default

It might be a sticking relay. You can take it apart and see if you find anything. If I was at a job, it's just cheaper to replace it. To pay me by the hour to pull the module apart and try to fix it is to costly. You can get a new module for a little over a hundred bucks, so being a service tech, I would just change it.
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 24.223.174.162
Old February 8th, 2007, 04:30 AM
Jammon Jammon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sloooo View Post
It might be a sticking relay. You can take it apart and see if you find anything. If I was at a job, it's just cheaper to replace it. To pay me by the hour to pull the module apart and try to fix it is to costly. You can get a new module for a little over a hundred bucks, so being a service tech, I would just change it.
Thanks,

I have removed the module and did not find any bad soldering joints. I currently can start the system by turning off the system, wait 30 seconds and the system runs. Don't think it's a relay now, will replace module.
Thank you for help,
Jammon
Reply With Quote
Reply






Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002 - QuinStreet, Inc.
http://www.selfhelpforums.com