dcsimg
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Wiring pole barn

  1. #1

    Default Wiring pole barn

    I am just getting started wiring my new pole barn. The barn is 225 feet from my house. Now can someone let me know if the following would work.
    60 am service to the barn-
    long run so I plan on using 4awg in 2 inch pvc
    The ground I should be able to get away with an 8awg running back to the panel and to 2 ground rods at the barn
    The neutral will also have to be a 4awg also?
    Not bonding the subpanel.
    Does all of this sound correct?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    8,427

    Default

    How many amps do you really think you'll need in that barn? If its less than 40, then what you propose should be fine (and I'd consider a 40A breaker at the house to enforce it). But if you'll be pushing 50 amps or more, then you need to upsize the wire to stay within a 3% voltage drop.

    If you know you have some 240V only loads, then the neutral can be downsized, but I wouldn't go down more than 1 size). Since you're already upsizing for voltage drop, I don't think you'll ever have an ampacity problem on the neutral just maybe excessive voltage drop depending on how well you balance things.

    If you can get a discount for buying a whole spool of wire (and you can at Lowes and Home Depot), I'd suggest getting 500' of #2 copper and 500' of #4 copper. Use the #2 for the two ungrounded power feeds and the #4 for neutral and ground. Or you could go aluminum in #1/0 and #2 which may be substantially cheaper and easier to lift too. You could even buy URD wire and skip the conduit. But if you can afford it, using a conduit and THWN conductors is a nicer install as it allows for change/replacement.

    The barn is far enough from the house that you may want to consider a 3 wire feeder instead of 4 wires (it will save the cost of 1 wire, and you'll need to bond the panel to neutral). But you can't if you have any metal pipes or other grounded metal wires (phone, TV) to that barn from the serving structure.
    Mark
    Kent, WA

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    8,427

    Default

    Post didn't update.
    Mark
    Kent, WA

  4. #4
    Unregistered Guest

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by suemarkp

    The barn is far enough from the house that you may want to consider a 3 wire feeder instead of 4 wires (it will save the cost of 1 wire, and you'll need to bond the panel to neutral). But you can't if you have any metal pipes or other grounded metal wires (phone, TV) to that barn from the serving structure.
    Unless he's in the State of Washington, WAC 296-46-250 requires that you need to run the 4th wire (ground) and float the neutral in the panel when feeding any out building with a feeder.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring barn from garage. Confused on feeder wire.
    By LOSTintheSAUCE in forum Electrical - Existing Home
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 20th, 2011, 12:28 AM
  2. Need Help With Electric To Pole Barn
    By jbrunolinton in forum Electrical Code - USA
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 20th, 2008, 08:24 AM
  3. pole barn sub panel
    By erict in forum Electrical Code - USA
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 20th, 2005, 04:48 PM
  4. CAT5e Computer Wiring
    By *abarry in forum Computers & Data Wiring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 11th, 2003, 02:20 PM
  5. Question from email transferred to forum by Wg
    By Wgoodrich in forum Electrical - Existing Home
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 1st, 2002, 06:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •