dcsimg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Stranded wire to outlet/switch

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    LaLa Land, NW Ohio
    Posts
    4,756

    Default Stranded wire to outlet/switch

    I am running stranded wire through a conduit. Am I ok to wrap it around a outlet or switch's screws or do I need to pigtail to solid first? In one case it will be 10 ga (due to run length).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    4,631

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr T View Post
    I am running stranded wire through a conduit. Am I ok to wrap it around a outlet or switch's screws or do I need to pigtail to solid first? In one case it will be 10 ga (due to run length).
    Pigtail it for a more reliable termination to screw terminals.
    Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    1,421

    Default

    1.If you twist the strands that make up the wire in a counterclockwise direction prior to looping the conductor around the screw it stays secure on a terminal.

    2. There is also a trick that if you pinch the insulation with your strippers about an inch and a half from the end and then with the casing still on twist the strands counter clockwise and then loop the bare part around the screw, and leave the casing on the little tail that comes out.

    3. You can crimp on a forked solderless terminal to the end. I only recommend this if you have a good crimper for the solderless terminals.

    4. Use devices that have a pressure plate connection. (where you stick the wire in a hole and tighten the screw)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    4,631

    Default

    4. Use devices that have a pressure plate connection. (where you stick the wire in a hole and tighten the screw)
    I don't believe they will accept a #10AWG.

    I vote pigtail all the way. Forget the rest..........just my .01 cents
    Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    1,421

    Default

    Wooooops, I forgot for a second we were talking about 10 AWG stranded. Long day I guess... Forget the first two, they only work on smaller stranded wire.. Better just pigtail.

    Some
    commercial grade devices do except 10 AWG.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    LaLa Land, NW Ohio
    Posts
    4,756

    Default

    I oinked it.

    I did install a outside GFCI outlet on the run to the garage and I tried and 10ga did fit in the clamp down holes, but didnt think to try it till after I made 12ga pigtails.

    Speaking of 10 ga.. This is a split 220V 20A circuit.. I ran larger wire due to the length of the run and some powertools including an occasional air compressor being run. It's 10 from the panel all the way to the disconnect in the garage (as far as I have wired so far). Is there a point where it's ok to go to 12 with minimal loss or should I keep it 10 to the outlets where the large stuff will be plugged in? Largest thing I will normally use out there is a 13A 120V air compressor.. not heavy use though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    4,631

    Default

    From the source (Disconnect in garage), you should be fine using #12, unless your run's in the garage are going to be excessive.

    May I ask how long the run is to the garage?


    Am I ok to wrap it around a outlet or switch's screws or do I need to pigtail to solid first?
    Some duplex receptacles do have the clamp down termination points --which may not accept the #10AWG--but based on your statement above, I figured you was using the screw terminal--using #10 stranded-- on non-GFCI devices.
    Last edited by Ohm1; June 9th, 2009 at 11:14 PM. Reason: added #10 stranded
    Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    LaLa Land, NW Ohio
    Posts
    4,756

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ohm1 View Post
    From the source (Disconnect in garage), you should be fine using #12, unless your run's in the garage are going to be excessive.
    Worst case Im thinking 10 feet for the outlets...probably less

    May I ask how long the run is to the garage?
    sure go ahead.

    Some duplex receptacles do have the clamps down termination ppoints --which may not accept the #10AWG--but based on your statement above, I figured you was using the screw terminal on non-GFCI device.
    The 10 ga is conneced to the disconnect (double pole switch with screw terminals)
    I pigtailed 12ga for the GFCI but could have gotten away with using the clamp holes.

    The run will be about 70 feet from the panel to the garage disconnect. so worst case about 80feet. Kinda in the borderline area....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    4,631

    Default

    Assuming you are on a 20A circuit, you are good!!!
    Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    4,631

    Default

    Don't go starting a shop--having two or three guys running appliances like a bat out of heck.
    Learning brings success. While you are waiting, I'm getting better!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •