dcsimg
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 220V - 50Amp GFCI Breaker

  1. #1
    Atominsky Guest

    Default 220V - 50Amp GFCI Breaker

    2 Questions: #1- I recently purchased a heat pump to heat my inground pool. The pump requires a 220V 50Amp power supply. I have run that source from my main panel to a disconnect that contains a 50Amp GFCI Breaker in it. This is commonly used for Jacuzzi's. My question is did I need to a neutral feed along with my 2 hots and ground in order for the GFCI Breaker in the disconnect to work properly? The unit I am wiring does not need the neutral so I did not run it. Now I am wondering if I should have for the GFCI Breaker???
    #2 - I need to bond this new piece of equipment and was going to bond onto the bonding lug of existing pool pump. This already has 1 piece of #10 solid copper wire in it from the frame of the pool. My plan was to put another #10 solid copper wire in the lug and then the other end in the bonding lug of the heat pump. Is this be a sufficient and safe bond?
    Any thoughts and comments would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Welland Ontario
    Posts
    4,782

    Default

    #1 No yo do not need a neutral for the double GFCI to work properly.

    #2 not sure. I let some one else answer this one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,781

    Default

    anything within 5' of that pool must have the bonding grid. You need only #8 bare which is what you may have there now(appears larg). This is seperate from all current carrying wires of pool and grounded conductor. You should be OK. Do you have a insulated green leading to pump, this is required. NOT just covered as in UF cable? Hang in for WG final say in this as pools are a very touchy subject with codes. Check out pool Y & G box atop for pool wiring.( I was unable to open maybr you'll have better luck).

  4. #4
    Atominsky Guest

    Default Reply to Wannabee

    Yes I ran all strander #6 wire from the panel. 1-Red, 1-Black, & 1-Green in pipe buried 12"-18" (where I could). This goes to directly to the 50 Amp GFCI Breaker disconnect near the heat pump. The Heat pump itself is about 10' from the pool.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    NW Florida
    Posts
    20

    Default

    To get to the articles on swimming pools click on "Electrical USA 2002 Code" and then "Accessory Structures." Swimming pool articles are listed there. the yellow and green shortcut doesn't seem to be working right now.

    G

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. GFCI Hot Tub Breaker is Tripping Constantly
    By mscdman in forum Electrical - Existing Home
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 27th, 2009, 05:00 PM
  2. New GFCI, test button OK but GFCI tester doesn't trip it
    By jbash in forum Electrical - Existing Home
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 12th, 2008, 02:54 PM
  3. Very weird GFCI breaker problem....
    By dave4242 in forum Electrical - Existing Home
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 6th, 2007, 06:42 PM
  4. GFCI recept or GFCI breaker in breaker box??
    By epojr in forum Electrical - Existing Home
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2007, 06:15 PM
  5. can't find replacement breaker
    By otter712 in forum Electrical - Existing Home
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 26th, 2003, 09:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •