dcsimg

PDA

View Full Version : I need help

smurphy0806
August 16th, 2012, 01:51 PM
I know nothing about plumbing. I am a structural engineer and I just bought my first house. The house was building 1952 with a basement 1/2 bathroom put on ~ 1968. I bought the house 2 months ago with the idea of remodeling the upstairs bathroom, kitchen and updating some electrical. This is where it all started.

I am essentially regurgitation information, and I know nothing about plumbing so please excuse my ignorance. If I say something wrong, I'm sorry.

We got permits from the city and started the rough plumbing/electrical. The basement bathroom is right underneath the 1st floor bathroom, so we had to open up the wall showing the basement bathroom plumbing to change some 1st floor bathroom stuff. BIG MISTAKE. The inspector saw the basement BR plumbing was ALL wrong. None of the drains were vented.

So the plumber said OK, lets fix that, gives me a quote to vent the sink drain because supposedly some municipalities allow you to vent only 1 of the drains (sink or toilet). The plumber calls the municipality to ask a question and they say "you can't do that. You have to vent the toilet AND the sink" Ok... So then he tells me he has to jackhammer into the concrete floor to access the toilet plumbing. I guess that makes sense. To cross his t's and dot his i's the plumber calls the inspector again and to ask if its OK to use plastic piping for the toilet vent. The inspector says "Yes, but since you just opened up the floor, now you have to provide an ejector pump."

Do I really have to? Is there any way around this? I understand the point of an ejector pump but at this point I just want the remodeling Done...

At this point I'm considering suing the previous owners because they sold me a house with a basement bathroom that was shittly done.

suemarkp
August 16th, 2012, 02:38 PM