PDA

View Full Version : adding POTS lines to 66-block? - please help

neutralmilk
February 13th, 2007, 09:48 AM
hello

we recently expanded an open room in our office building into 2 separate offices. there were 2 active lines on one wall, and what i am trying to do is transfer one of those lines to the new office. i have limited telephony experience, but figured i could handle this simple task. the existing lines were using cat 5 from the jack to the block. in the new offices, we dropped POTS (silver satin line). so i figured i could wire the new jacks in the new office, and connect the other end to the block where the existing pair was punched down. see images if this is all too confusing. for some reason i can't get the line to work. please excuse my ignorance, and feel free to ask me for more info if it will help you help me figure this out.

one image shows the cross connects, etc. another image shows a close up of the block where i'm trying to connect (click thumbnail to enlarge). the orange pair i removed was the extra line that i wanted to move to the new office, so i took that out and punched down the green/red from the POTS line that was dropped into the new office. the third image shows the keystone jack that i punched the POTS line into on the other end. what am i doing wrong?

THANKS!

Mr T
February 13th, 2007, 09:58 AM
What is your problem? No dial tone? Do you have anything at the phone? clicks, beeps, noise, ect?

First off the line cord you used to go from your block to the terminal jack cant be used on punchdown. You need solid wire of the proper gauge for a punchdown connector or the jack to grab. Standed will just reform around the connection and make it very flakey if it works at all. Start with replacing that wire with some cat 3 or 5. Look around there is often a partial spool sitting around with a block setup of that size.